One Day...

Today, I answer your question about making the jump to a full-time creatorā€¦with a tip from Peter McKinnon (5.9M subscribers).

Today, I answer your question about making the jump to a full-time creatorā€¦with a tip from Peter McKinnon (5.9M subscribers).

šŸŽØ WEEKLY CARTOON:

šŸ’¬ WEEKLY Q&A:

Q: Iā€™m working a day job thatā€™s definitely not my lifeā€™s calling. But it pays the bills lol. Any advice to de-risk the jump to making content full-time instead?

- Jason Gould

A: A lot of people dream about being a creator ā€œone day.ā€ 

But very few prepare for their ā€œday one.ā€

I asked Peter McKinnon how he went from State Farm associate (yes, really) to YouTuber with 5.9M+ subscribers.

After college, McKinnon worked a lot of odd jobs: landscaper, cook, magician, and State Farm associate.

ā€œI thought I gotta stop doing random jobs,ā€ McKinnon told me. 

ā€œIf I get a job at a camera shop it gets me that much closer. I can learn about cameras more, and then maybe get an internship, and I can intern with people who do it professionally and learn more.ā€

Thatā€™s the key.

Find your own ā€œcamera shop:ā€ a job that pays you to learn skills to become a full-time creator.

In my interview with Dream (32M subscribers), he said he did the same thing.

He worked for other gaming creators. He learned on their time ā€” and dime. Then quit to try for himself.

The result? With grew to 10M subscribers in just over a year.

Bottom Line: Donā€™t take a blind ā€œleapā€ of faith. Learn from others first. De-risk your leap so itā€™s a hop.

- Jon

PS have a question for next week? Submit in our Discord of 3,450 creators. 

  šŸŽ„ BEHIND THE SCENES

Exciting news: I'm launching a Creator Accelerator with Thinkific.

It marks the biggest creator partnership in their company's 11 year history.

During my 8 years at YouTube and Instagram, I worked with many creators and brands.

Thatā€™s why shortly after leaving, I was able to: gain 650K followers, 430M views, and land 40+ sponsorships.

Did I have an unfair advantage? 100%. But thatā€™s why Iā€™m doing this.

I'll take you under my wing and share the tools, tips, and templates to build a real business as a creator.

No guessing. No gurus. Just growth.

Join the waitlist here šŸš€ more to come.

šŸŽ SPREAD THE WORD:

Refer friends. Get gifts. Copy this unique link and email, text, post, or carrier-pigeon it to anyone: {{rp_refer_url}}

You have {{rp_num_referrals}} referrals. Youā€™re {{rp_num_referrals_until_next_milestone}} away from receiving {{rp_next_milestone_name}}