What's The Big Deal?

Today, I answer your question about getting bigger brand deals…with a tip from Peter McKinnon (5.8M+ subscribers).

Today, I answer your question about getting bigger brand deals…with a tip from Peter McKinnon (5.8M+ subscribers).

🎨 WEEKLY CARTOON:

💬 WEEKLY Q&A:

Q: Brands keep offering to pay me in “exposure” ugh. Any advice to get better deals? Or get brands to pay in cash?

- Layla Bennett (via Discord)

A: Being “paid” with exposure isn’t great. But it’s an audition for better brand deals later. Peter McKinnon told me this genius tip:

After all, most creators just read lines the brand gives them for ad reads.

Not Peter.

What’s an example?

For his videos for Squarespace, Peter edited in a “clone” of himself called “Squarespace Pete.”

Instead of Peter selling you, he chats with Squarespace Pete and teases him for “interrupting” the video.

Viewers loved it. Now they comment if Squarespace Pete is missing in Peter’s ads.

…and can I confess something?

I used Peter’s tip for my early brand deals. It worked.

I cloned myself as our fictional CFO “Ash Mooney” (get it? Cash Money 🤓). I talked about how the finance tool I was promoting could replace him.

Then I used that brand video to pitch other brands on why I could do more — and deserved more.

As Peter said: “Can you do something visually that's going to change it up? Can there be an activity that you do?”

Try it. Use props. Write sketches. Give examples.

Bottom Line: Create brand content that isn’t boring; bigger deals will follow.

- Jon

PS have a question for next week? Submit it in our Discord of 2,500 creators. 

🎁 SPREAD THE WORD:

Refer friends. Get gifts. Copy this unique link and email, text, post, or carrier-pigeon it to anyone: {{rp_refer_url}}

You have {{rp_num_referrals}} referrals. You’re {{rp_num_referrals_until_next_milestone}} away from receiving {{rp_next_milestone_name}}